Premier Mike Baird announces new cabinet

NSW Premier Mike Baird and Deputy Premier Troy Grant today announced the team that will deliver on the Coalition’s mandate to provide an extra $20 billion for vital infrastructure in our cities and our regions.

“This is a Cabinet for today and tomorrow,” Mr Baird said.

“The team that Troy and I have chosen represents the perfect mix of experience and new talent to take the State forward.

“I am particularly proud that Gladys Berejiklian and Gabrielle Upton will become the first women in NSW history to hold the positions of Treasurer and Attorney General.”

Mr Grant said the new Cabinet team will have a strong regional focus, with nine Ministers representing regional communities.

“This is a Cabinet that represents all communities across the state,” Mr Grant said.

“The benefit of having strong regional representation in Government is more voices at the decision-making table.

“These changes mean regional NSW now has individual ministers responsible for crime and safety, tertiary skills and aboriginal affairs while maintaining oversight of protecting our precious land and water resources.

“Regional NSW is back at the heart of government.”

Mr Grant, a twice-decorated police officer for 22 years, becomes Minister for Justice and Police, Minister for the Arts and Minister for Racing, and is the senior minister in the Justice cluster.

Significant changes to the structure of government, reflected in Cabinet appointments, include a new cluster, Finance, Services and Innovation, which will be led by Minister for Finance, Services and Property, Dominic Perrottet.

Andrew Constance becomes Minister for Transport and Infrastructure and, along with Minister for Roads, Maritime and Freight Duncan Gay, will play a key role in delivery of the Rebuilding NSW package.

In line with an election commitment, Pru Goward becomes Australia’s first Minister for the Prevention of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault, in addition to her responsibilities as Minister for Women, Minister for Mental Health, Minister for Medical Research and Assistant Minister for Health.

The Government has signalled its determination to attract more businesses from interstate and reduce red tape by appointing Victor Dominello to the new role of Minister for Innovation and Better Regulation.

Responsibility for TAFE has moved from the Education cluster to the Industry cluster and will be the responsibility of Minister for Regional Development, Skills and Small Business, John Barilaro.

The NSW Liberals & Nationals made a number of significant announcements on TAFE during the campaign that indicate the importance of the vocational education and training sector in the Government’s push to create 150,000 new jobs during its second term of office.

The Industry cluster will be led by Anthony Roberts (Minister for Industry, Resources and Energy), who will be tasked with delivering the jobs commitment.

Additions to the Cabinet team are: Niall Blair, who becomes Minister for Primary Industries and Minister for Lands and Water; Mark Speakman, who becomes Minister for the Environment, Minister for Heritage and Assistant Minister for Planning; David Elliott, who becomes Minister for Corrections, Minister for Emergency Services and Minister for Veterans Affairs; and Leslie Williams, who becomes Minister for Early Childhood Education, Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Assistant Minister for Education.

The number of parliamentary secretaries has been boosted from 13 to 16 to enable for the first time dedicated Parliamentary Secretaries for the Hunter and Central Coast (Scot MacDonald), the Illawarra and South Coast (Gareth Ward), the North Coast (Chris Gulaptis), Western NSW (Sarah Mitchell), Southern NSW (Katrina Hodgkinson) and Western Sydney (Ray Williams).

These positions will report direct to Cabinet each quarter and will hold ministers to account for delivery of the Coalition’s election commitments across the regions.

Mr Baird and Mr Grant thanked outgoing ministers Jai Rowell, Matthew Mason-Cox, Katrina Hodgkinson and Kevin Humphries for their service to NSW.

The Honourable Michael Bruce Baird MP; Premier, and Minister for Western Sydney

The Honourable Troy Wayne Grant MP; Deputy Premier, Minister for Justice and Police, Minister for the Arts, and Minister for Racing

The Honourable Gladys Berejiklian MP; Treasurer, and Minister for Industrial Relations

The Honourable Adrian Piccoli MP; Minister for Education

The Honourable Duncan John Gay MLC; Minister for Roads, Maritime and Freight, and Vice-President of the Executive Council

The Honourable Anthony John Roberts MP; Minister for Industry, Resources and Energy

The Honourable Jillian Gell Skinner MP; Minister for Health

The Honourable Andrew James Constance MP; Minister for Transport and Infrastructure

The Honourable Bradley Ronald Hazzard MP; Minister for Family and Community Services, and Minister for Social Housing

The Honourable Robert Gordon Stokes MP; Minister for Planning

The Honourable Dominic Francis Perrottet MP; Minister for Finance, Services and Property

The Honourable Gabrielle Cecelia Upton MP; Attorney General

The Honourable Prudence Jane Goward MP; Minister for Mental Health, Minister for Medical Research, Assistant Minister for Health, Minister for Women, and Minister for the Prevention of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault

The Honourable John George Ajaka MLC; Minister for Ageing, Minister for Disability Services, and Minister for Multiculturalism

The Honourable Stuart Laurence Ayres MP; Minister for Trade, Tourism and Major Events, and Minister for Sport

The Honourable Victor Michael Dominello MP; Minister for Innovation and Better Regulation

The Honourable (John) Giovanni Domenic Barilaro MP; Minister for Regional Development, Minister for Skills, and Minister for Small Business

The Honourable Paul Lawrence Toole MP; Minister for Local Government

The Honourable Niall Blair MLC; Minister for Primary Industries, and Minister for Lands and Water

The Honourable Mark Raymond Speakman SC MP; Minister for the Environment, Minister for Heritage, and Assistant Minister for Planning

The Honourable David Andrew Elliott MP; Minister for Corrections, Minister for Emergency Services, and Minister for Veterans Affairs

Recommended For You

About the Author: Tribune