Sydney, Media Release by Multicultural NSW; 15 March 2024: A Karenni refugee who provided interpreting services in Coffs Harbour, a Polish language teacher, and a young Human Rights Advocate were just three of the people honoured at the Premier’s Harmony Dinner.










Twelve Multicultural Community Medals were awarded in front of more than 1,600 people at the 2024 Premier’s Harmony Dinner.

The 12 recipients were recognised for their outstanding leadership, innovation and community connection to promote social cohesion and harmony in NSW. 

The event also honoured four change makers who were inducted into the Multicultural Honour Roll for the significant contribution made across the course of their lives to enhance our multicultural community.  This posthumous recognition commemorates their legacy and the impact they’ve had on influencing an inclusive, resilient and peaceful society for all.

One of those honoured, was the Chairperson Emeritus of Multicultural NSW Advisory Board, Dr GK “Hari” Harinath OAM.  Dr Hari was incredibly passionate about gender equity and giving young people a voice.

For the full list of Premier’s Multicultural Community Medals and Multicultural Honour Roll visit https://multicultural.nsw.gov.au/

Dr GK “Hari” Harinath OAM
Dr Tony Pun OAM
Mr Jeremy Jones AM
Mr Lino (Carmelo) Vella AM
2024 Premier’s Multicultural Community Medals
Dr G.K. Harinath OAM Sports Medal sponsored by Cricket Australia Manuel Castillo OAM
Lifetime Community Services Medal sponsored by SBS Anthony Pang OAM
Stepan Kerkyasharian AO Community Harmony Medal Loau Donina Va’a
Human Rights Medal Sponsored by Settlement Services International (SSI) Rosanna Barbero
Regional Unity Medal sponsored by Commonwealth Bank of Australia Ayemin Nain
Youth Medal sponsored by the New South Wales Service for the Treatment and Rehabilitation of Torture and Trauma Survivors (STARTTS)  Kupakwashe Matangira
Arts and Culture Medal in honour of Carla Zampatti sponsored by Powerhouse Lena Nahlous
Language Services Medal sponsored by NAATI Dr Raymond Chakhachiro
Community Languages Teacher Medal sponsored by the NSW Department of Education Gosia (Malgorzata ) Vella

CEO of Multicultural NSW Joseph La Posta said:

“It is a great honour to celebrate these exceptional community champions in the presence of their families, friends and peers.”

“From community work in regional NSW through to language teachers in Sydney, the award recipients showcase the very best of our multicultural society and how we can all make a difference by striving for community harmony.”

Multicultural NSW Advisory Board Chair Nick Kaldas, APM, said:

“It’s important to recognise the outstanding achievements made across NSW and to acknowledge the lifetime of work by those who have passed.”

“The people who have been recognised with the Community Medals or induction into the Honour Roll are the reason NSW is considered one of the most successful multicultural states in the world.”

Recommended For You

About the Author: Tribune