World Cup 2015: India’s 30 probable players announced

India leave out 2011 World Cup heroes, opt for youth in 30-man probables list for 2015 edition

India’s out-of-favour senior cricketers like Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh and Gautam Gambhir were omitted from the 30-member probables list for next year’s World Cup with the selectors reposing faith on the young guns.

The five-member selection panel headed by Sandeep Patil met at the BCCI headquarters in Mumbai to select the probables for the mega event. Only four members of the squad that won the 2011 World Cup have survived – MS Dhoni, Ravichandran Ashwin, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli.

Off-spinner Harbhajan Singh and pacer Zaheer Khan, who were a part of the 2011 World Cup winning team along with Sehwag, Yuvraj and Gambhir, were also left out of the list, putting a question mark on their future given that none of the five have featured in an ODI for the last one year.

Apart from the famed five, pacers Ashish Nehra and Munaf Patel, spinner Piyush Chawla and all-rounder Yusuf Pathan were also among the players axed from the list announced by BCCI Secretary Sanjay Patel after a meeting of the selection committee.

Jammu and Kashmir all-rounder Parveez Rasool, Uttar Pradesh spinner Kuldeep Yadav, batting duo of Manish Pandey and Kedar Jadhav along with spinner Axar Patel benefitted from the overhaul, riding on their consistent performance in the domestic circuit.

With the selectors opting to ignore the out-of-favour seniors, there were no major surprises on offer in the list of probables. The selectors included all-rounder Stuart Binny and in-form batsman Manoj Tiwary and young wicketkeeper batsman Sanju Samson in the list which would be further pruned to 15 in early January ahead of the World Cup starting February 14.

Of all the players ignored, Yuvraj’s journey has been the most dramatic. The left-handed batsman was named Player of the Tournament for his fantastic run in the 2011 World Cup but his career took a hit after he had to undergo treatment for rare form of germ cell cancer between his lungs. His attempts at a comeback were not too successful and he was eventually pushed to the sidelines.

Of the selected players, captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja picked themselves after delivering consistently.

Among the bowlers, pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Varun Aaron, Dhawal Kulkarni, Mohit Sharma and Ashoke Dinda got the selectors’ nod by virtue of their fine performances in both the international and domestic circuit.

Apart from Dhoni, the list has two wicketkeepers in Wriddhiman Saha and young Sanju Samson, who has also impressed with his batting in the domestic arena.

Cheteshwar Pujara, who is regarded a Test specialist, Pragyan Ojha, Dinesh Karthik and Naman Ojha were among the other notable omissions. Murali Vijay, Ambati Rayudu and Robin Uthappa, who have been in and out of the national squad in recent times have also found a place in the probables list.

The list of 30 probables for World Cup 2015

Batsmen: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Robin Uthappa, Murali Vijay, Manish Pandey, Manoj Tiwary, Kedar Jadhav

Wicket-keepers: MS Dhoni, Wriddhiman Saha, Sanju Samson

Fast-bowlers: Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Varun Aaron, Mohammad Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Mohit Sharma, Dhawal Kulkarni, Ashok Dinda, PArvez Rasool

Spinners: R Ashwin, Axar patel, Karn Sharma, Amit Mishra, Kuldeep Yadav

All-rouders: Stuart Binny, Ravindra Jadeja

Recommended For You

About the Author: Akhtar Jamal

Tribune International