The days of watching a game sitting back on the couch are gone with the group stage and things are about to hot up. There is no margin for error anymore, and this is where men will be separated from the boys.

Euro 2016’s last 16 line-up is a mix of the old warhorses and a few raw rookies, who must thank the new expanded format for accommodating them all in the Championships’ second act. Regional rivalries, revenge match-ups, clash of the titans – The round of 16 fixtures will see it all.

Euro 2016 last-16 fixtures

Saturday, June 25: Switzerland v Poland (14:00, St-Etienne)

Saturday, June 25: Wales v Northern Ireland (17:00, Paris)

Saturday, June 25: Croatia v Portugal (20:00, Lens)

Sunday, June 26: France v Republic of Ireland (14:00, Lyon)

Sunday, June 26: Germany v Slovakia (17:00, Lille)

Sunday, June 26: Hungary v Belgium (20:00, Toulouse)

Sunday, June 27: Italy v Spain (17:00, St-Denis)

Sunday, June 27: England v Iceland (20:00, Nice)

Euro 2016 quarter-final dates

Thursday, June 30 – QF 1: Winner of Switzerland v Poland v winner of Croatia v Portugal (20:00, Marseille)

Friday, July 1 – QF 2: Winner of Wales v Northern Ireland v winner of Hungary v Belgium (20:00, Lille)

Saturday, July 2 – QF 3: Winner of Germany v Slovakia v winner of Italy v Spain (20:00, Bordeaux)

Sunday, July 3 – QF 4: Winner of France v Republic of Ireland v winner of England v Iceland (20:00, St-Denis)

Euro 2016 semi-final dates

Wednesday, July 6 – Winner QF1 v Winner QF2 (20:00, Lyon)

Thursday, July 7 – Winner QF3 v Winner QF4 (20:00, Marseille)

Euro 2016 final date

Sunday, July 10 – Winner SF1 v Winner SF2 (20:00, St-Denis)