Achievements of 2016 Minister’s Student Achiever Award winners celebrated

Awards ceremony celebrate the achievements of NSW State’s best students who represent the future of tourism and hospitality

A special ceremony was held at NSW Parliament House to mark the 2016 Minister’s Student Achiever Awards in Tourism and Hospitality and recognise future industry leaders.

Minister for Trade, Tourism and Major Events Stuart Ayres congratulated 16 students on their academic achievements and acknowledged the importance of professional training to the tourism industry.

“These Awards celebrate the achievements of our State’s best students who represent the future of tourism and hospitality,” Mr Ayres said.

“Our tourism industry is all about delivering outstanding experiences every day – making sure visitors enjoy their stay, tell others and return year after year.

“Providing world-class service demands the dedication and commitment of the thousands of individuals employed by our tourism businesses and it is my pleasure to honour the next generation of tourism staff and operators.”

Destination NSW Chief Executive Officer Sandra Chipchase said the students’ commitment to excellence would see them well placed to deliver fantastic visitor experiences throughout their careers.

“These students will make an important contribution to the NSW tourism industry in coming years and, as the NSW Government’s tourism and major events agency, we are delighted to acknowledge and support their professional development,” Ms Chipchase said.

Students from NSW education institutions offering degrees, diplomas and certificate courses in tourism and hospitality studies can be nominated for the Awards. To be eligible, students must have completed one year of their studies and be a resident of NSW.

The 2016 Minister’s Student Achiever Awards recipients:

Ashleigh Barnes

Certificate III in Tourism

TAFE NSW, Illawarra (Bega Campus)

Emma Blanshard

Diploma of Tourism and Travel

TAFE NSW, Northern Sydney Institute (Brookvale)

2016 Minister’s Student Achiever Awards Recipients:

Nicholas Cachia

Certificate III in Travel

Australian Pacific College (Kent Street)

Oksana Diadyk

Advanced Diploma of Travel and Tourism

TAFE NSW, South Western Sydney Institute

Dominic Elmaloglou

Certificate III in Commercial Cookery

TAFE NSW, North Coast Institute (Coffs Harbour Education Campus)

Kyle Ferguson

Certificate III in Commercial Cookery

TAFE NSW, Riverina Institute (Albury Campus)

Danielle Fuller

Bachelor of Business (Hospitality Management)

William Blue College of Hospitality Management

Anthony Hiscox

Future Club Leaders Program, Diploma of Management

Barrington Training Services

Natalie Johnson

Certificate III in Travel

TAFE NSW, Western Sydney Institute

Jacqueline Jones

Bachelor of Tourism Management

Western Sydney University

Amy Lawry

Bachelor of Business (International Hotel & Resort Management)

Blue Mountains Hotel Management School & Torrens University

Katie Lee

Bachelor of Business (Tourism)

The University of Newcastle

Kylie Monckton

Bachelor of Business (Tourism & Hospitality Management)

Southern Cross University (Lismore Campus)

Zoe Saunders

Diploma of Hospitality

TAFE NSW, Hunter Institute (Hamilton Campus)

Chelsea Smailes

Bachelor of Business (Hotel Management)

The Hotel School Sydney

Clare Wang

Bachelor of Management (Tourism)

University of Technology Sydney

Recommended For You

About the Author: Akhtar Jamal

Tribune International