Sydney (Press Release): Emergency services across the State will benefit from increased radio coverage during operations, with the Government Telecommunications Act 2018 coming into effect next week.

Minister Victor Dominello

Minister Victor Dominello

Minister for Finance, Services and Property Victor Dominello joined representatives from NSW public safety agencies today at the Sydney Ambulance Centre to announce that the government radio network (GRN) will grow from 190 sites to about 700 across NSW, with coverage expanding from 35 per cent of the State to over 80 per cent.

Central to the new Act is the provision of a legislative basis to support the NSW Telco Authority’s Critical Communications Enhancement Program (CCEP), allowing emergency services to more easily share information and coordinate responses on the one consolidated GRN. The CCEP provides a single, integrated network for NSW Government agencies delivering frontline services.

“We are investing $320 million over the next four years to expand the GRN across the State. This represents the biggest investment in critical communications infrastructure in two decades,” Mr Dominello said.

“The new Act and funding ensures the state’s critical communications services, such as those used during bushfires and floods, are better protected. This is paramount given the bushfire season has commenced, and temperatures are set to soar in the weeks ahead.

“By expanding the network, the NSW Government is delivering enhanced mission-critical communications services to support frontline responders including police, paramedics, fire fighters and emergency response organisations.”

Mr Dominello also announced that the new laws will enforce penalties of up to $22,000 for an individual and $44,000 for a business for any intentional or reckless damage to any part of the network. Compensation may be ordered for damage, regardless of whether a conviction is secured.

The following table indicates the rollout of the GRN in the greater metropolitan area (GMA).

Current GRN sites in the GMA Proposed new GRN sites in the GMA
Arncliffe, Bateau Bay, Belrose, Berkeley, Bilgola Plateau, Blacktown, Bondi Junction, Boomerang Ridge, Bowral, Brookvale, Bucketty, Bullio, Chatswood, Chullora, Collaroy Plateau, Copacabana, Cordeaux, Cowan, Cronulla, Darkes Forest, Doyalson, Freestone, Garawarra, Glenbrook, Heathcote, Hill Top, Hornsby Heights, Horsley Park, Katoomba, Kiama, Kirrawee, Knights Hill, Kogarah, Kulnura, Kurrajong Heights, La Perouse, Manly, Maroota, Mount Elliot, Mount Tomah, Mt Keira, Nattai, Nelson Bay, New Lambton Heights, North Bondi, North Somersby, Parramatta, Pennant Hills, Razorback, St Leonards, Umina Beach, Wallsend Acacia Gardens, Ashfield, Barden Ridge, Belmont North, Beresfield, Bonnells Bay, Brooklyn, Burwood, Cabramatta, Campbelltown, Camperdown, Cannoelands, Canyonleigh, Caringbah Carlingford, Castle Hill, Cessnock Charlestown, Concord West, Condell Park, Cooks Hill, Croom, Eastgardens, Fairfield, Fairlight, Grassy Hill, Green Valley, Gregory Hills, Halekulani, Helensburgh, High Range, Hurstville

Ingleburn, Ingleside, Katoomba, Kenthurst, Killcare Heights, Kingswood, Leichhardt, Liverpool, Long Jetty, Macquarie Fields, Macquarie Park, Maitland, Maroubra, Marrickville, Mascot, Mayfield, Merrylands, Mona Vale, Mount Druitt, Mount Victoria, Mount White, Mt Warrawolong, Narrow Neck, Newcastle, North Avoca, North Gosford, North Sydney, Olney, Ourimbah State Forest

Pendle Hill, Penshurst, Picton, Port Kembla, Prospect, Randwick, Raymond Terrace, Revesby, Riverstone, Robertson, Roselands, Royal National Park, Shellharbour, South Windsor, Springwood, St Ives, St Marys, Strathfield, Surry Hills, Swansea, Sydney Olympic Park, Toronto, Vaucluse, Wadalba, Wahroonga, Waitara, Warragamba, Wentworth Falls, Wollombi, Wollongong, Wombeyan Caves, Wyee, Yarrowitch, Yerrinbool, Zetland

The new laws take effect on 17 December and replace outdated legislation that is more than 25 years old. For more information visit